Where have I been?

So I have been M.I.A from here for quite sometime and a few of you may be wondering why. It is not that I have not wanted to be on here, but there have been a few changes in my life over the last few months that it has taken a while to adjust and get situated. Over the last few months of 2014 (Oct-Dec) my husband and I both acquired new jobs. Back in Oct my husband found out that the preschool that he teaches at would be closing their doors and had to find a new job. Luckily, his mom (through her job) met a woman who worked at a preschool and they needed a teachers aide. Not only was he adjusting to his new job, but he is also working on finishing his degree. My husband was taking a writing class which required a lot of time and well, neither of us really had it. So, we were able to work together and pull through his class with a B. YAY! Then in Mid-Oct my husband and I along with his family took a vacation and went to Maui. It was so nice and relaxing to take a break and be away from the madness that was my retail job. Once we came back from Maui it was blackout months (Christmas time) for my job. It was so crazy and so chaotic I literally had no time for anything. I was so tired and so physically exhausted every day I could not force myself to pick up a book. I was getting so sick and tired of the crap from my job I knew I needed to find something else. I have this habit of looking for jobs and saying I am going to apply and I never do, because I always get so insecure that I am not going to be good enough or have enough education to get it. Then right before Christmas, my mother in law had heard from a friend at church that they knew someone who was hiring for a receptionist. I have never done office work before, so I was a little apprehensive because I thought that maybe they wanted someone with experience. I figured the worst they could say was no, so I applied and interviewed. Initially, they had told me that they were not going to hire me because they found someone who had a little more experience, but I was their second choice. Then that following Monday, while at work I got a call from the office manager telling me that if I was still interested in the job it was mine. So, needless to say, I got off the phone and gave my two weeks notice. I started at the new job on Dec. 29, 2014 and I am loving it. The people there are so nice and helpful. I love the fact that it is a family run business and they make you feel like you are family. Recently, my company had a holiday party and they took us to San Francisco to see Cirque Du Soleil Kurious: Cabinets of Curiosities (which was AMAZING!!!) and they paid for our hotel and they also rented out an entire restaurant for the company to enjoy a meal. Since I have started working there I have been less stressed and less tired and have been able to focus more on reading. Although, now that I have a new job I am hoping that I am able to keep this up so that I am able to be more active on here and be able to post more reviews and all of that. So yeah. Here is to a new years and a new reading year. Since the the beginning of January  I have been able to complete nearly 3 books. I am about 30 pages away from finishing the third book!!! I am hoping that I am able to stay with the trend of at least a book a week. Well I hope everyone had a wonderful Christmas and a Happy New Year! I am at least happy to say that I completed my goal of 20 books this last year. I wish it could have been more, but with the way things were with my other job, it was not a realistic goal to go any higher. Did you guys reach your reading goals this year (2014) and what new goals have you set for yourself? I would love to hear from you guys. Leave a comment in the section below letting me know.

2 thoughts on “Where have I been?

  1. I am so happy you are liking your new job!!! I hate looking for work too! I always get so depressed because it made me feel like I had no way out. I hated always coming across the cycle of needing experience but no one wanting to give it to me. I’m glad you rolled the dice! 🙂

    Like

    • I am happy too. Though I do have to admit I have to adjust to the pace of the new job. It is quite a bit slower than retail, so, I get things done fast, which they like. However, it often leaves me with nothing to do. However, my office manager just told me that when I am finished doing everything that I need to do I have to go through all the files in the back and reorganize them and make sure everything is filed together and all of 2014 is clipped together so we can file it in the back when it is too full. At least it is something to do. Lol. I really do enjoy the people that I work with and I do like the job.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

