Welcome to the Dark House by Laurie Faria Stolarz

THE_DARK_HOUSE_CAROUSEL_TK_5Cover: I LOVE this cover. There is something that is so mysterious and creepy about it. There is something about abandon amusement parks that gives me the creeps. When I first saw this book I was on the other side of Barnes and Noble and I was like “OOOOO What is that book?” So I went over to admire the cover.

Synopsis: For Ivy Jensen, it’s the eyes of a killer that haunt her nights. For Parker Bradley, it’s bloodthirsty sea serpents that slither in his dreams.

And for seven essay contestants, it’s their worst nightmares that win them an exclusive, behind-the-scenes look at director Justin Blake’s latest, confidential project. Ivy doesn’t even like scary movies, but she’s ready to face her real-world fears. Parker’s sympathetic words and perfect smile help keep her spirits up. . . at least for now.

Not everyone is so charming, though. Horror-film fanatic Garth Vader wants to stir up trouble. It’s bad enough he has to stay in the middle of nowhere with this group—the girl who locks herself in her room; the know-it-all roommate; “Mister Sensitive”; and the one who’s too cheery for her own good. Someone has to make things interesting.

Except, things are already a little weird. The hostess is a serial-killer look-alike, the dream-stealing Nightmare Elf is lurking about, and the seventh member of the group is missing.

By the time Ivy and Parker realize what’s really at stake, it’s too late to wake up and run.

My Goodreads Rating: 4/5 Stars

My Thoughts:  The first thing that I noticed about this book was the cover. I was on the other side of Barnes and Noble when I spotted it and had to go check it out. Initially, I read the synopsis and read the first 5 pages (which is something I normally do), then I put the book down and walked away. As I was wandering around the store looking around I could not stop thinking about this book. So, I went back over and picked it back up. Needless to say that I read 138 pages of the book in the store. Sadly, I could not purchase it that day. Then a few days later (still unable to purchase it) I went back to the store with my Nook and read for an hour at the store, which left me with 22 pages of the book to read. So I bought it for my nook. I still want to get a physical copy of the book, but for now the e-book is fine. It allowed me to finish it.

I loved that this book was told in multiple perspectives. Six to be exact. Usually I am a little leery of books told from multiple perspectives because sometimes things get lost in translation. Normally, I am OK with two and sometimes three perspectives, but six made me nervous. Stolarz pulled this off well! Every chapter was a different perspective and it was labeled clearly, so you knew whose view point you were reading. This book was an easy, fun, and creepy read that kept me hooked until the end. I had to know what was going to happen to each character. While I cared about all the characters in the book, there were a few that I cared more about than others. Some characters just fell flat for me like Garth Vader (Awesome name!) for instance. In the beginning of the book he was quite annoying and I could not get into his story line as much, but his nightmare in the book was the only thing that caught my attention in his story.

This book reads like a campy horror movie. Even though most of the time campy horror movies are more funny than scary, this book still left me creeped out. I could see scenes clearly in my head like I was there watching this book as a movie. I love it when a writer paints a picture so clearly, but still leaves you enough room to use your own imagination. This book was creative and different than any other horror book that I have read. Is it perfect? No, but it sure is a good book! So, if you love campy gory horror movies, or books about the darkest parts of nightmares please pick this book up. It is a fun and creepy ride that will keep you up all night. If any of you have read this book please let me know what you thought in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

