The Merciless by Danielle Vega

mercilessCover:  This is an interesting cover. I like that it has no dust jacket. I also like the obscurity of this cover. It is pink with a pentagram, so, it left me wondering what the heck this book would be about.

Synopsis: Forgive us, Father, for we have sinned

Brooklyn Stevens sits in a pool of her own blood, tied up and gagged. No one outside of these dank basement walls knows she’s here. No one can hear her scream.

Sofia Flores knows she shouldn’t have gotten involved. When she befriended Riley, Grace, and Alexis on her first day at school, she admired them, with their perfect hair and their good-girl ways. They said they wanted to save Brooklyn. They wanted to help her. Sofia didn’t realize they believed Brooklyn was possessed.

Now, Riley and the girls are performing an exorcism on Brooklyn—but their idea of an exorcism is closer to torture than salvation. All Sofia wants is to get out of this house. But there is no way out. Sofia can’t go against the other girls . . . unless she wants to be next. . . .

In this chilling debut, Danielle Vega delivers blood-curdling suspense and terror on every page. By the shockingly twisted end, readers will be faced with the most haunting question of all: Is there evil in all of us?

Overall Rating: On Goodreads I gave this book a 4/5 stars. However, it is 3.8/5 stars for me. 
 
My Thoughts: I went into this book not knowing a whole lot about it (which was part of the fun), so, I will leave this review as spoiler free as possible. I had seen this floating around on book tube quite a bit, and I kept hearing that it was totally scary and a great YA Horror novel. I knew that this book was about an exorcism, and anyone who knows me, knows that stuff scares the crap out of me. I have a hard time reading or watching anything that deals with possession. However, this book, was not one of those books that scared me. While I love scary movies and scary novels, I felt that this fell just a little short. Yes, it is a creepy story and a bit disturbing, however, it did not keep me awake at night and afraid of the things that go bump in the night. For me, this book kind of felt like a gory version of mean girls. I did enjoy the story and it did keep me interested  enough to keep reading. If you are squeamish, than you may want to steer clear of this book. It is quite gory. Overall, I enjoyed this book and if you are looking for a fast paced, creepy teen horror book then this may be the book for you. 
4 thoughts on “The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Leave a Reply

