Alice in Zombieland

Alice in ZombielandAlice Bell has lost everything. Truth Be told I am only a quarter of the way done with this book and it is such a gut wrenching story. When I first picked up this book I thought that it was going to be one of those play on the classics (Such as Pride and Prejudice and Zombies) but I was wrong. The White Rabbit Chronicles is so different from what I had imagined it to be. Within the first few pages I was hooked. A few chapters in I was in tears. I am excited to finish it and tell you what the rest of the story has in store.

***UPDATE****.

I am a bit of a cover freak. I love a book with a beautiful cover and I have to say that I love this cover. I love the textures and the art work. I also love the inside of the hardcover book. If you have not had a chance to just check out the hardcover version of this book I would recommend that you do so.

Book Review: Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

Synopsis: She won’t rest until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

Her father was right. The monsters are real….

To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I’d tell my sister no.
I’d never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I’d zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I’d hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I’d tell them I love them.
I wish… Yeah, I wish.

Review: Alice is Zombieland is completely different than I thought that it was going to be. I totally thought it was going to be a play on the classic Alice in Wonderland with zombies. However, it was not. This book started out so gut wrenchingly sad. Alice’s father is a peculiar man. He is so afraid of these monsters that he sees (which no one else can) that he does not let his family leave the house at night, and he will not go near the graveyard. However, one night Alice convinces the father to let them go out at night and that is when her whole life changes. Everything she loves is ripped away from her. While lying in the car, near death herself, she sees them. The monsters her father wanted to so desperately to keep his family safe from were real. **Spoiler Alert**Now the zombies in this book are not like the living, walking, flesh eating dead you would think them to be, they are incorporeal.  These zombies only exist in the spirit realm and live and feed off of the souls of those who can see them.  The only way to defend themselves against these monsters is to fight them, but to do so they must use a form of astral projection and disconnect from their physical bodies.  Alice does not know how to do this on her own; actually she does not even know any of this until she meets Cole.         

                Oh, what do I say about Cole? I must say that I had a bit of a fangirling moment when I was introduced to Cole.  He is your token bad boy. Constantly in trouble and every girl in school thinks he is hot, but because of his bad side they are afraid of him. Of course Alice is smitten with him. However, her new friend Kat (she met while she was in the hospital) warns her to stay away from him. But does Alice heed this warning…. NO! Of course not! Why would she and why would we want her too. It would not be a complete story without some sort of forbidden love story. Alice does try to stay away, but she just can’t fight the feelings that she has for him. And of course Cole has secrets that he has to hide from her in order to protect her….

All in all this was an amazing book. I would recommend this book to someone to read. However, if you are expecting this book to be a play on the classic, then you are going to be disappointed. But if you expect nothing more than a gut wrenching incorporeal zombie filled love story than get ready for the ride of your life. 

5 thoughts on “Alice in Zombieland

  1. Pingback: Wishlist Wednesday # 5 | The Book Affair

Leave a Reply

